University Research Committee

HKU’s research strategies and policies are formulated by the University Research Committee (URC), which is a committee of the Senate chaired by the Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research). URC initiatives include the HKU Strategically Oriented Research Themes. The URC also designs and administers funding schemes to strengthen the University’s research performance.


Category Name
A Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor, appointed by the President and Vice-Chancellor (Chairman) (ex-officio) Professor T.S.A. Hor
A Chair Professor, appointed by the President and Vice-Chancellor (Deputy Chairman) Professor M.H. Sham
Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Teaching and Learning) (ex-officio) Professor I.M. Holliday
The Dean of the Graduate School or his/her representative (ex-officio) Professor M.L. Chye
Director, Technology Transfer Office (ex-officio) Dr S.C. Kim
Up to six teachers appointed by the Senate for two years at a time

Professor W.G. Hayward
Professor L.D. Qiu
Professor N. Rao
Professor P.C. Sham
Professor V.W.W. Yam
Professor S.N.M. Young

Up to four teachers co-opted by the Committee for one year at a time

Professor R.L.H. Chiu
Professor E.C.M. Lo
Professor A.H.W. Ngan

President and Vice-Chancellor (Statutory) Professor X. Zhang

For enquiries, please email